Somewhere between napping and dispair

Reading the news everyday turned out to be a lot harder than I originally thought. I didn't relize that I always had news around me but I was not the one making sure I had that, it has always been the people around me that provided me with news. Now, those people are still in Sweden and without them, I'm having a hard time figuring out how to get to the news.

Don't get me wrong, of course I can surfe news sites forever and ever without actually getting any information out of it. But I don't want that. I want to be able to get some information out of the news I read and I want to make something out of it. It can be to participate or start a discussion, post my thoughts about it on my blog or be able to search for more information about a particular subject.

I remember that when I lived with my parents my dad always watched the tv news in the morning and because he was the first one up, starting the tv, noone else bothered to try and change the channel. So I spent my mornings watching news. Later on, at school, I always walked by some place where they sell newpapers. In Sweden, there's no boxes hidden behind somewhere you can't find them. Newspapers are sold everywhere and the news bills are displayed everywhere. So, just with walking around, I could read the headlines and get an idea of what is going on. And when I got home, the newspaper where on the kitchen table, ready to read.

When I moved away from home I stopped watching the news in the morning, I just didn't have the time. The news bills, however, was still everywhere to see and even though I didn't buy a newspaper, my friends always looked at the teletext and we always discussed the news in some kind of way or another.

Moving to U.S made me relize that I didn't t do much to contribute to the newsgathering but only participated in it. In Johnson city I didn't read the news at all. It got quiet all of a sudden. I didn't have a tv and I don't read news online. There's no news bills being seen and it was like the world just shut down. I do, however, get the local paper to my dorm room every morning but the first semester I just collected it without reading it. I figured I have to do things diffrently this semester, I started reading it.

I figured out that I like to use online news as a complement to what I read in the paper. So, I get my coffee and read the Johnson City press. After that I go to my RSS feed I have set on Associated Press and I look throught the headlines to see if there's some more information to get. I think this is the best way for me. I think I have my news.

I also try to figure out how to write a transcript properly and I think I will pay the library a vist.

To be a journalist it is not only important to know how to write news but it is also important to actually read the news. I spent a lot of time figuring out a good way of doing that becuase there is so much news and so much information so if I, as a journalist, don't know how to screen the information, there is tons of time being waisted.

And I am really truly sorry but I don't read the sports, sports got screened away. I'm sorry.

Comments

Comment entry:

Name:
Remember me?

E-mail:

URL/Blog:


Comment:

Trackback